Two Months and Counting

Well, we’re exactly two months from the members preview opening of Warhol on Vinyl – the Record Covers 1949-1987+ at the Cranbrook Art Museum in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan. Right now the Graduate Degree Show is up and there was a fantastic preview last night to see what the future art superstars have up their sleeves at this point in their career.

They have started to promote the Warhol show, and I was greeted with this signage at the exit:

20140420-125108.jpg

So now you get a face to go with my previously uncluttered (some might disagree with that) blog. I will continue to share details as they emerge, but start making those plans to come visit. It will actually be open from June 20, 2014 until March of 2015, so you have plenty of time.

Side note: some keen observers might notice the work of Richard Forrest on the cover collage. Thanks again, Richard!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two Months and Counting

  1. Looking good Frank, can’t wait to “see” the show even though it won’t be in the states. 😦 Did you have anything to do with the design of the poster?

    • warholcovers says:

      I did not. Honestly, I was surprised to see it. The curator I’m working with just came from Sweden, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed you and Richard might still have a chance to have it come to you.

  2. Oh, that sounds promising! Keeping my fingers crossed as well.

  3. Sharon says:

    How great! Why did you choose Cranbrook for your gift?

    • warholcovers says:

      Hi, Sharon. I have been involved with the Cranbrook Art Museum for nearly 20 years. My wife and I previously donated two important Warhol prints from our collection, which helped the Museum land 9 more prints from the Andy Warhol foundation. They also have more than 100 of Warhol’s photographs.

      They felt that having the covers in the Museum’s collection would make more sense than collecting dust on my shelves. I agree with them and I’m thrilled they put this exhibition together. I hope it travels the world and helps educate people about this very little understood aspect of Warhol’s career.

Leave a Reply

