Covers Being Advertised As Warhols That Aren’t

If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s eBay sellers that describe a cover as a Warhol without any documentation, or despite the fact they know for a fact that it is not.

In some cases, I can give someone the benefit of the doubt that they were unaware of the facts, or some will cover themselves the same way the tabloids do: with a question mark. (Kim Kardashian pregnant with alien baby?)

Anyway, visitors to this blog will certainly come across these covers and wonder if they should add them to their collection. In most cases illustrated below, I have bitten the bullet and purchased these for closer examination. Here are the ones that have come up recently of which you should be aware.

20130406-150823.jpg

This LP was made by a person who had peripheral contact with the Warhol Factory. Despite this fact, the cover concept, design, art design and photography are credited, and it is not to Warhol.

20130406-151005.jpg

This one comes up pretty often, and it seemed worth a closer look. The illustration style is similar to Warhol’s style at the time, but it just doesn’t feel like a Warhol drawing. This, and the fact there is no evidence supporting it being Andy’s handiwork, means this one should probably be avoided.

20130406-151215.jpg

This one feels to me like the work of the same artist as the above cover. It just doesn’t feel right and there’s no positive evidence it should be included.

20130406-151344.jpg

This one, again, is done in a style similar to Warhol, but is missing something clear enough to give a solid attribution.

Do you have some others you have questions about? I’d be happy to share my opinions with you. Just make a comment or send me an email and I’d love to hear what you’ve found.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Covers Being Advertised As Warhols That Aren’t

    • warholcovers says:

      Yes, ratfab, you’ve identified four more that are incorrectly claimed to be Warhol’s work. If one was to acquaint themselves with the available books on Warhol’s pre-Pop illustration style and especially his unique blotted line method, it would be pretty obvious these attributions were incorrect. Two books I like to use are, “Success is a job in New York”, and “Andy Warhol – Drawings and Illustrations of the 1950s”.

      • JT says:

        How certain are you that the Sevitzky sleeve is not a Warhol? That one in particular strikes me as a good candidate. The blotted lines are there. The peculiar calligraphic curves are there. The confident looseness is there. The sense of humor is there. Where does the illustration fail for you?

      • warholcovers says:

        I’m afraid I’m not sure which cover you are referring to. Could you send me an image to frankmedwards@comcast.net ?

      • JT says:

        Sorry. I was referring to the third link Ratfab posted. I just now noticed it goes to an auction which expired and is no longer visible. If you search eBay for Warhol Sevitzky, the record comes right up. The seller is asking $4,500. Kind of a lot for an unconfirmed Warhol, if it is that.

      • JT says:

        I should add that there is another sleeve on the RCA Bluebird Classics label which looks even more like a Warhol than the Sevitzky-Gershwin-Grieg sleeve. The two seem like they could have been done around the same time. I am still kicking myself for not picking it up when I saw it years ago.

      • warholcovers says:

        You are probably thinking of the Erica Morini record. You can search my blog to see close up pictures. I feel pretty certain that it is Warhol’s work, but the Warhol museum people don’t seem to want to pass judgement any more. They did authenticate another from this label only a few numbers off, so I think we’re on the right track. Google Matt Wrbican and Hamster Cage and you will find a blog entry about the Rhapsody in Blue cover.

      • JT says:

        Too funny. It turns out I know Wrbican. Well, not really. He was the TA for a class I took while I was an undergrad at CMU. Unless it’s someone with the same name, which I highly doubt. Anyway, I will check out his site. Thanks for the tip!

      • JT says:

        Okay, I checked out the Tchaikovsky-Morini sleeve. That’s a Warhol–I would bet my house on it. And, I think it makes a strong case for the Sevitzky-Gershwin-Grieg sleeve also being a Warhol. But, you know, it’s impossible to know for sure. There has to be someone who knows.

      • warholcovers says:

        I think the main problem is that without any documentation or preliminary drawings or sketches in the archive, it just can’t be said for certain. But, saying that, I’d bet my house as well.

  1. Giambattista Vico says:

    I have two “maybes”. Stardust-Tex Beneke–Camden CAL-316. Kostelanetz Conducts Kostelanetz.
    Columbia-ML-4107–1949

    • warholcovers says:

      Neither look like Warhol’s blotted line technique to me. I’ve purchased the Beneke to look at more carefully. Thanks for the comment and thanks for visiting the blog!

      • Giambattista Vico says:

        Thank You for the quick response. I will continue the on-going search for the elusive, undiscovered Warhol relics!

      • Giambattista Vico says:

        Thank You for that pertinent info. Here’s one more. Mozart-Budapest String Quartet–Columbia ML 4360—issued in 1950.

  2. rockdoc999 says:

    The “Salome” cover is by Darrill Connelly NOT Andy Warhol. Connelly could also have done the Anna Russell cover. There is no earthly reason how or why Andy Warhol would have been commissioned to illustrate an Argentinian LP by Miguel Aceves Mejia, even accounting for the fact that the record is on the RCA label.

  3. Pingback: All work and no play… | ratfab

  4. Earl Scheckel says:

    Is the “Ballet from Vienna” Epic LC 3102 an Andy Warhol? I don’t know what supporting evidence is, articles on the net supports that it is. What do you think? Earl

  5. Hi – I have a record album from 1950 – Schubert – Quintet in A major for piano and strings that is very similar to the Prokofiev cover that is by Andy Warhol (also 4 color combinations) The publisher is Columbia and the lot number is: ML4317. . Here’s a link to the cover on eBay (not my listing): http://www.ebay.com/itm/Schubert-Quintet-in-A-major-The-Trout-BUDAPEST-STRING-QUARTET-Columbia-ML-4317-/161261490196?pt=Music_on_Vinyl&hash=item258bef1014
    Do you know if this cover artwork is by Warhol?

    • warholcovers says:

      Hi, and thanks for your question. Although this is a label Warhol worked for and a has a similar graphic design, the illustration style of this cover is not consistent with Warhol’s work of that time frame. Warhol’s early illustrations utilized the “blotted line” technique. This particular cover was likely the work of Darrill Connelly, a contemporary of Warhol, and illustrator of many of the covers mistakenly attributed to Warhol.
      Thanks again,
      Frank

      • Coming out of left field on this one! How about a 2 record- 7″ 45rpm EP set in a gate fold cover titled, “Strauss Waltzes” by Al Goodman and His Orchestra? RCA EKB-1021. The cover depicts a man and a woman dancing at an elegant affair.

  6. JT says:

    I can’t say I buy this line of reasoning that Warhol’s early work can be identified by simply looking for blotted lines. There are no blotted lines to be found in the artwork for RCA Camden CAE 158 of 1956, for example. Doesn’t that sleeve more or less make the case for stylistic departures?

    Best,
    JT

  7. JT says:

    Here is one I have wondered about…

    http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/cor-de-groot-rachmaninoff-liszt-epic-133994010

    I think the style looks too heavy-handed to be Warhol but then I look at the Strauss Jr. Waltzes sleeve and the Candoli Cool Gabriels sleeve and I’m not so sure. Your thoughts?

    Best,
    JT

    • warholcovers says:

      JT, I am impressed with your sleuthing abilities and critical thinking. I have not seen this one before. It certainly has elements which are very Warhol like. I would like to give this one more thought, but at first glance, despite the use of the blotted line technique and the subject matter which Warhol clearly used several times, I find the depiction of the hands to be a bit more masculine than how Warhol illustrated male hands in motion on the piano keyboard. I will send this around to other collectors to see if they disagree. Thanks for your comments!
      Frank

      • JT says:

        It is interesting. The label is right. The design is very similar to the Horowitz cover Warhol did for RCA. However, the line work is almost looks like Warhol imitating Egon Schiele. Maybe a show was in town and it influenced him. Or, maybe Warhol had simply grown tired of this self-conscious style he had developed–entirely possible given the release date of the record, which was 1955. Or, maybe a new artist was shown examples of Warhol’s work up to that point and asked to do something similar–also possible.

      • warholcovers says:

        All valid points. I do think that Warhol’s success as an illustrator eventually led to imitation. That makes all this the harder to decipher. Keep up the great work!

  8. JT says:

    This site you have here is a wonderful resource! Thanks for all your hard work!

  9. BJT says:

    Hello. I have never seen this cover discussed. Here is another one some people are labeling as Warhol, but doesn’t pop up to often. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Handel-Fireworks-Britten-Young-Persons-Sargent-Columbia-ML-4197-Plays-Nicely-/231016060823?pt=Music_on_Vinyl&hash=item35c9a15797 I actually found came across a copy of this years ago that I still have when I started collecting his work, but always doubted it. I don’t quite believe to be his illustration but there is something that oddly intrigues me involving the face (especially the eyes) in the upper corner and every time I see it I do a double take. The lines don’t look thick enough to be his style and it looks rather amateurish compared to his work. I also believe I have seen those same lions on another Columbia cover and they were credited to a different artist. Any thoughts?

  10. JT says:

    Here is one which was recently auctioned as a possible Warhol…

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/271596397570?ssPageName=STRK:MEDWX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1435.l2649

    Like the writer of this blog, I don’t like people auctioning items as possible Warhols but I nonetheless think there is a good chance CAE 162 is the real deal.

  11. JT says:

    Here is one which hasn’t come up…

    Strauss Encores CAE 214

    When I found the record, it got my attention because the graphics immediately reminded me of Warhol’s drawings of shoes and boots.

    Here is one Warhol which I think bears some similarity…

    http://www.wikiart.org/en/andy-warhol/untitled-red-boot-wit-holly

    Note the shape of the shoe and the scalloped line with dots.

    Next, consider the composition, which is similar to other works…

    As far as I can tell, CAE 214 is an extremely rare RCA Camden. There is no record of it being bought or sold anywhere and only a few mentions of it on the web.

    • Earl Scheckel says:

      Hi JT, Have you looked at the Capitol record Gliere: Ilya Mourometz P 8402 to see if the back of the album is a Andy Warhol sketch? Thanks for taking time to look at this. There is one on ebay which shows the back and I have one too and it is definitely a blotted line drawing. Earl

      • warholcovers says:

        Hi Earl, thanks for your question. Most of the covers submitted can be denied out of hand, primarily because of the lack of the blotted line technique. In your case, it shares many elements with Warhol’s style. The primary reason I doubt this is Warhol’s work is that he never worked for Capitol Records that I’ve ever been able to establish. What makes your cover most interesting to me is that another cover for Capitol Records, Keely Smith’s, I Wish You Love, also shares the blotted line technique that closely resembles Warhol. Although the rendering of the flowers was a little different, those of us who study this kind of thing believed that subtle differences, plus lack of evidence of working with Capitol before, led us to believe that Warhol’s rapid success as an illustrator in the early 50’s probably led another artist to copy his style.

        I will share this cover with my colleagues to get their opinion as well. If they have any comments which disagree with mine, I will share them here.
        Thanks again,
        Frank

Leave a Reply

