A Quick Word of Advice for Warhol Cover Collectors

I’d like to take advantage of the most recent post here to give a bit of advice regarding eBay and Warhol Cover collecting. Two recent Warhol related covers have sold on eBay for very large amounts of money, when in fact most of that money was wasted. Let me start with the most recent cover on this blog. It is titled Caught From Behind, by M.T.T. Mauro Teho Teardo, an Italian LP from 1988 which features a variation of Warhol’s Double Elvis painting. I have to admit I did not know about this record until it came up on my regular eBay search. It ended up selling for $153.50. Now, you’re all allowed to spend your money any way you see fit, but you should realize that a little more research could have saved you way more than $100 off that cost.

You see, when I see something new show up on eBay that I hadn’t seen before, instead of chasing up the price at the auction, I first do some homework. I know this is revealing some secrets here that have saved me thousands of dollars over the years, but this is a blog dedicated to helping collectors and I hate to see money wasted.

The first thing I do is a google search to see if I can learn more about the record. There may be a link directly to a vinyl seller that has the very same record and is willing to sell it for less money that the eBay auction currently stands. Secondly, I go to two of my standard sources of vinyl records for sale and further information about releases. My favorite is Discogs.com, and my second favorite is Musicstack.com.

After doing a little research and checking out Discogs.com, I found this very same record for sale for $13.99, saving $139.51. You can clearly see how advantageous it is to take some easy steps to make sure you’re not wasting your money.

The other example was the Velvet Underground bootleg, Psychedelic Sounds from the Gymnasium. This debuted on eBay a couple of months ago and fetched,over $400.00. If the bidders had bothered to do their homework, they would have found other copies for sale around the world for less than $40.00. There is still a copy for sale on Discogs for only $30.00.

I hope that this information has been helpful to you all, and I hope to save you some money going forward. Thanks again for reading this blog, and for all your comments and emails.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Quick Word of Advice for Warhol Cover Collectors

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say great blog!

  2. Carlos Alexandre says:

    Hi I need some help about an ep of RCA Camden CAE 180 Erica Morini plays Brahms,Gounod,Sarasate and Ravel! I do strongly believe that the cover is from Andy! Record and cover are both in NM condition! I had the Strauss waltzes on RCA Camden too and I ve sold it to a french gallery last year!
    Thank you very much
    All the best and this blog is outstanding!

    • warholcovers says:

      Hi Carlos! Thanks for the kind words. I’ve looked at this cover carefully, and regret to say that I am very confident this is not a Warhol cover. During the 1950s, Warhol was doing illustrations either in the “blotted line” technique you would see in most examples, or the pen drawing style seen in Waltzes by Johann Strauss Jr. The example you found does not resemble either of those styles enough to suggest Warhol’s involvement. I would encourage you to keep looking. New covers have been found as recently as the last couple of years.
      Cheers,
      Frank

Leave a Reply

